Teams Deadlocked in Russian SuperLeague Women’s Semifinals

After the first two rounds of the Russian SuperLeague semifinals, the teams are deadlocked with one win apiece.

In the first pairing, Dynamo Kazan is taking on Dynamo Moscow. On Monday, Dynamo Kazan won via sweep (25-19, 25-18, 25-19). On Tuesday, Dynamo Moscow returned the favor with a sweep (25-20, 25-17, 25-20). The winner of the best-of-three series will earn the championship.

In the other half of the bracket, Uralochka-NTMK is facing off with Yenisey Krasnoyarsk. On Monday, Yenisey won 3-1 (26-24, 25-20, 20-25, 25-23). On Tuesday, Uralochka won in five sets (25-20, 25-16, 17-25, 20-25, 15-12). The winner of the best-of-three series will earn third place in the league.

Both pairings will reconvene on April 28 to decide the champion and bronze medalist.

Dynamo Moscow is the reigning champion, winning the title in 2015-16 after six-straight runner up finishes. Dynamo Kazan won five straight titles from 2010-11 to 2014-15.

Uralochka was the runner up in 2015-16 and earned the bronze in 2014-15 and 2011-12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *